“So… what are your plans for after graduation?”

Also known as: the worst possible question that could be asked of a soon-to-be college graduate (unless, of course, you’re awesome and know exactly what you plan to do after graduation and can present the inquirer with an extremely well-organized plan that is both impressive and assuring to both parties. At this time, that is not me. Sigh.)

First, I must make a correction regarding my countdown. A friend pointed out to me that the date of graduation I had put into the countdown was wrong, and unfortunately, not wrong in my favor. Instead of being on May 16 (because that’s a Monday…), it’s on the 14th. That brings the countdown to 164 days, which isn’t completely terrifying… yet.

But let’s get back to that horrible question. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been asked that question this year. Yes, I have a vague idea. But where do vague ideas about plans for the real world get you? Back at home on your parent’s couch. (Side note: my parents have semi said this is acceptable, but since Green Bay isn’t exactly a hot spot for the magazine industry, there’s really not much for me back there.) I have a few vague ideas that I haven’t exactly thought through, but here goes:

  1. Stay in Des Moines after graduation. This involves finding a relatively cheap (ha!) studio apartment in the downtown area (because I don’t have a car) and continuing to work at my current job (that will remain nameless because I don’t want there to be issues)–that is, if they’ll have me (something I still have to ask about, but don’t want to yet for fear of a potential awkward situation)–or find a completely unrelated full-time job so I can afford my studio apartment while still attempting to freelance (which is a scary thought). There’s a lot of things that have to either fall into place or leave the picture before I can figure out this one.
  2. Try New York for a summer, and see if I like it. I’ve already told you that I don’t want to move to New York right away. It’s big and loud and the people there can be mean. But, I have a small advantage: both my mom’s brother and her childhood friend live about an hour’s commute outside the city. They’ve both offered to let me stay with them for the summer, so if I can somehow find an internship that will take me with my small amount of experience (and overflowing amounts of enthusiasm!), I could essentially do the whole New York thing for a bit practically risk-free, build connections there, see if I like it… and then go from there. If I like it. Obviously. Or, there’s the best one yet:
  3. Run away to Italy where I can teach English to adorable Italian children. This option, obviously, is the a) least likely to happen and b) most desirable because who doesn’t like Italy? And small adorable Italian children? I studied in Italy my sophomore year and have always wanted to go back. I could get an English language media gig over there, freelance or blog to my heart’s content, or write a book about my experience. Unfortunately, as mom recently informed me, running away to Italy won’t solve my problems. So, alas. Back to options 1 and 2.

What do you think? What about your plans (or lack thereof)?

2 Comments

Filed under I'm freaking out over here!

2 responses to ““So… what are your plans for after graduation?”

  1. For downtown, try the Marketplace Lofts. I know someone who lives there and they’re pretty nice. I’ve also heard that Hubbell Tower is somewhat affordable. I’ve also looked at studios in Civic Center Court — they’re like $525 or something for a really central location. Just some suggestions should you decide NOT to run away to New York or Italy 😉

  2. holly_catherine

    Thanks for the suggestions! I decided to look the other day on http://www.downtowndesmoines.com and I don’t think they had all of those listed. I’ll definitely check them out 🙂

Leave a comment